Gloria-Scene 7

“Almost everything–all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure–these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important.” – Steve Jobs

Gloria-7a

 

Time Enough for Love

   The air was crisp as the mountains and valleys gave up their heat to the night. The creatures of darkness called out in a symphony of nature’s music interrupted only by the splash of water on rock.

   Raul sat on a boulder in the stream against a bank with a brush covered bend. No one could see them unless they walked right up on them. Gloria sat between Raul’s thighs and leaned forward to wash her legs and feet.

   He took the remains of a bar of soap wrapped in the cut-off toe of an old pair of nylon hose and washed her back as she rubbed her legs. The scent of fresh water and damp earth mingled with the citrus and mint of Alpine fir trees and hung in the cool air like incense.  Raul resisted the urge to take Gloria right there on the rocks and instead he continued to caress the stain of dust and sweat from her body.

   They took turns washing each other and taking pleasure from their need for each other. The moon and stars overhead reflected off their wet skin. The sound of hands sliding across slick bodies mingled with the mesmerizing sound of the river making its way across the stones and brush in the water at the far bank. Whispers and sensual sounds drifted in the shadows and joined the flowing melody of the water.

   The night chill forced them back to their camp where they slipped between the horse blankets. Gloria climbed on top of Raul as he shivered. She made love to him and this time, he relinquished his dominance and gave way to Gloria’s desire to take him into her body and soul and never let him go. She never remembered the emptiness retreating from her before, but this night her Dragon granted her dream to feel wanted and loved.

   The morning fog lifted from the hills in twisted fingers of vapor reaching up before disintegrating in a desperate attempt to grasp the light.  The morning sun reflected from the grass on the slopes brightening the air and warming the stucco walls in the village below.

   Villagers moved in slow motion interrupted by the sputter of a scooter or a small ox-cart laden with the fruits of their labor.  A blanket of mist moved through the village along the ground away from the chirping birds, the sun, and the awakening community.

   Gloria rolled over on her back next to Raul as he watched the movement below.  She stared up into the branches of the trees and watched as a breeze caused the limbs to move in rhythm.  She imagined fairies sprinting through the branches as trembling leaves fed her illusion from lack of sleep and limited nourishment. Their trek through the mountains had taken its toll.

   Sepia images of her strolling along the beach with Raul’s hand in hers flooded her mind.  So many times she’d come to him only to leave him again. How many women filled her spot at his side while she was gone? She looked over at him and admired his chiseled features set in his gray-black beard and unruly hair. He could have a real woman if he wanted, she thought to herself.

   Why he wasted his life on a half woman – half machine, she had no idea. A wave of insecurity washed over her tightening her chest and throat. He never mentioned the others when she was with him. All he did was devote his attention to her.  

   Gloria turned on her side and threw her leg over his and lay across his back. She ran her fingers through his hair and scratched his back with her nails. She liked it when the hair on the back of his neck stood up, and his skin pebbled on his arms.  He looked over his shoulder at her and smiled.

   “You keep doing that, and we’re going to skip our surveillance.”  Raul’s growl had a tinge of teasing in it.

   “I’ve seen all I need to see,” Gloria whispered before she nibbled his ear.

   “Oh, and what have you decided?” Raul rolled over on his back as Gloria settled in the crook of his arm.

   “I’m worried you won’t take advantage of this beautiful morning to make love to me like you used to.”

   Raul laughed under his breath. “I have an idea, my love.”

   “Does it involve me, rope, and tight knots?”

   Raul chuckled again. The sound of his amusement was like the deep rumble of distant thunder. The sun disappeared in his black eyes as Gloria stroked his face and beard.

   “No, not this time, dear. I was thinking we should stroll into town like tourists on a casual hike across the Caucasus Mountains looking for a place to resupply and overnight off the trail.  Later, we’ll see if we can get someone to drive us to Tbilisi.”

   “Where’s the part where you make passionate love to me.”

   “Oh, that.” Raul pretended he’d forgotten her question.  “Once we get to Tbilisi and find a proper place to stay, I’ll think about rewarding you for being a good girl on this trip.” A mischievous grin wrinkled his eyes.

   “What’s wrong with now?” Gloria teased.

   “We have work to do, my dear. We can play later.”  Raul stroked Gloria’s back like he was placating an impetuous child.

   Gloria closed her eyes and let the sensations of his hands on her fill the void her angst created in her heart. Raul was her Satyr, and she was his Nymph. He made her feel whole again. She needed his control and passion and in return, she tortured his memories with extended absences. She wanted to change that and swore to herself she would never leave him again.

   She rested on his chest and returned to the vision of them on the beach. The sun filtering through the trees warmed her back as she listened to Raul’s heavy breath and beating heart. Dreams of better times took Gloria away from the early morning activities until Raul shook her awake.

   “Check this out, love.”

   “Huh. . .?”

   “At the end of the village by that barn near the road. The woman was hanging up laundry.”

   Gloria followed Raul’s gaze to the woman at the corner of the barn.

   “That’s a Dragon Sister,” Gloria whispered.

   “How can you tell she is a Dragon Sister?”

   “We sense each other. I just feel it,” Gloria replied.

   “Well, dear I hope you are right.” Raul sounded skeptical.

   The two Dragons watched the woman taking laundry out of a bucket and hang it on a line that ran from the corner of the barn to a pole. The hanging sheets and clothes gave them cover from being seen by villagers if they approached her from behind along a stone wall that separated a small gravel road from the field where sheep grazed.

   “I’ll approach her while you guard the rear. When I signal you, join us, and we’ll see what she is willing to do for us,” Gloria’s voice sharpened as her focus narrowed.

   She was back to her cold and calculating warrior mode. She was on point, and her senses peaked. She had no idea what waited for them, but to continue their mission, they needed all the help they could get, and that meant taking risks.

   “Let’s break camp. We’re burning daylight here.” Raul was already packing as Gloria hurried to saddle the horses.

36 thoughts on “Gloria-Scene 7

  1. wah hahahaha …
    Really love you guys! My crazy Boys! LOL
    Speaking of Sherrielock Holmes like that.
    She will come with the Whip, tomatoes and the cream – and Chocolate.
    The best punishment EVER! LOL

    I shall return here again after settled.
    I was on a short one week vacation – doing writings & Research.
    Now, loads of other responsibility before sitting down and rest.

    Missing coming to this place.

    Until later again! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. We need you at the Stamtisch at each of our meetings or else Chris and I go rogue and the rascal genes come to the front. Anytime a Dragon and a Vampire Slayer get together anything can happen. But when we have Sherrielock here, we behave or else we get spanked for being naughty. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Of Course all creature will behave themselves when Sherrielock Holmes come to the Stamtisch. Everyone must behave. She is the one immortal human woman that still in flesh and blood, neither a Vampire and neither she is a Dragon. She bits of everything. And! She has always the deadly Whip with her! Uuuuu …

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ha ha ha haaaaa! That whip and her outfit is the perfect attention getter. Everyone sits up straight, stops jabbering and kicking the legs under the table. If she scolded us and told us to eat our vegetables like good boys, we surely would. Those tomatoed buns are a stark reminder of our slip ups with good manners and social grace, which is truly hard to master. 😳😬😂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. hahahaha … This reminded me of my childhood days when the Boys refused to eat the green and my grandmother threatened them to smack their Butts with the brocolli. Then I said to my granny what if she try the bamboo stick, could have been better than the Broccoli because I want to eat it.

            I remembered her blinked hard at me and she laughed. She really laughed so hard that tears ran down her cheek and I could not understand why it was so funny. LOL

            But today, I understand that Moment why it had made her laugh so much. And granny told me that of what I had said back then was too cute. She remembered that moment every time she prepares brocolli.

            The Boys finally had to eat the green because the combination of both the brocolli

            Liked by 2 people

            1. LOL! I know I had to get spanked a few times to eat my greens. One time my mother left the table and i wrapped my green beans in a napkin and put it behind a chest of drawers in the dining room. My mother was so pleased she started feeding me more green beans because she thought I liked them and i kept putting them behind the chest of drawers. later she went to clean the dust behind the furniture and found all those beans wrapped up. I got a serious bootie tomatoing that time. Sherrielock Holmes would be proud of my mom. She could really blister a butt. What talent! 😀

              Liked by 2 people

              1. LOL Now, you got a shiny smooth buns as a result of it. That’s why no hair grows on that area, said my best friend once, while we were drinking beer during dinner time and we all spitted out right at everyone’s faces after that comment. LOL

                wah hahaha … We all cannot stop laughing and blamed her for that. She did that on purpose because she went off to the kitchen to backoff before she finished the sentence. She knew we are going to spit out those beer! Bad, bad Girl! LOL

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Waaa haaa haaa! That is hilarious, Sherrie. I know I would choke on my beer if I heard that. Yes, my mother smoked my naughty little rump roast. I bet I could send smoke signals after that. 😀

                  Like

  2. I love the photo you used to illustrate this chapter.

    Very pretty scene.

    Time for Raul and Gloria to recuperate after their hard fought battle.

    Time to think of lovemaking, knots and ropes.

    Sounds like an evening with Sherrielock Holmes.

    LOL !

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh, I am so far behind. I need to catch up with her too. The last few weeks have been insane. By the time I get home I’m too bleary eyed to read AND concentrate. LOL, Geezerhood is kicking my butt just like Sherrielock would.

          Liked by 1 person

              1. I see Sherrie’s most recent post has allowed you and your head elves to think the most deliciously sinful thoughts now. 😉

                I remember the first time I heard of that dessert Death By Chocolate was in a most lovely pub and restaurant The Lord Burghley in the town of Stamford, Lincolnshire, London.

                I remember the most delightfully beautiful dark haired dark eyed young waitress (wearing a tight skirt too I recall) mentioning the dessert Death By Chocolate (which I ordered).

                In addition to chocolate, I was also picturing in my mind whipped cream and strawberries which I was eating off a certain part of her anatomy.

                Wow!

                I tell you the sinful thoughts and memories our friend Sherrie leads us into with her most stimulatingly written arousing posts on sinful thoughts and pleasures. 😀

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

