The Mermaid-Scene 2

“I have seen them riding seaward on the waves
Combing the white hair of the waves blown back
When the wind blows the water white and black.
We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown.”

― T.S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

mermaid-02

The Love of Sea and Shore

   The buzz of alcohol hummed in my head behind the cacophony of drunks hustling each other and the girls that served them. The dim light in the bar and Derek’s distant tone lulled me into a half dream as his story took shape in my mind.

   The colorful tale of his mermaid unfolded in my mind, and as Derek spoke, the picture on the wall called to me, entranced me, and filled me with desire. The dream of leaving my rough and lonely life for the arms of a woman that could love the monster I’d become held me captive. I’d change for her. I would let her change me to a kinder form. I dreamed of a mermaid of my own as Derek continued speaking of his encounter with a sea maiden as if he were in a cathedral in love with the Virgin Mary. I listened as he continued.

* * *

   “Days turned into weeks as I worked every day to dismantle the ship’s deck and other useful items to build a secure shelter in the rock overhang. It was dangerous, I knew it. But, I wanted to face the sea so I could see any ship or plane that came close enough for me to signal. I ate the last of the rations and was forced to fish and gather coconuts and clams for food.

   I took my goggles, swim fins, and harpoon spear fishing near the rocks where the water was deep and clear. Beams of sunlight cut through the water like a thousand searchlights. I saw fish in the light and then they were gone in the shadows cast by the sheer cliff as it dove straight down to the bottom too deep for me to see. I decided I needed to risk moving further out to get a better look at my quarry when there came a splash near the rocks.

   I saw her in the light beams and then she was gone only to reappear like a ghost. She swam like a seal or a river otter, darting in all directions. I surfaced to fill my lungs and then prepared to dive again thinking I’d only seen a marine mammal when we came face to face under the water. She floated like an angel, her legs together and her arms out by her side like offering a hug to welcome me. Her hair floated and opened up like tendrils of vines reaching for the light.

   We stared in disbelief at each other. In front of me was a woman like any women, yet naked as the day she was born. Her hands had long fingers with webs like an otter, and her feet were shaped like an ordinary woman’s except the toes were almost a foot long with short claw-like toenails and great billowing webs of skin between the toes.

   It was her face that held me captive. My lungs burned for air, but I couldn’t move. Those large round eyes were black as midnight on a moonless night, and they were looking straight at me wide with wonder and curiosity. My lungs won. I broke the surface and gulped for air like a drowning man.

   Before I could gather my wits, her angelic face was just inches from me. She spoke in a voice like she was singing a lullaby to a child. The next thing I knew, she pulled me to her breasts without shame and began to swim toward the rocks carrying me in a firm embrace. Those toes spread like fingers turning her feet into fins that surged with power as she kicked and undulated in a slow but powerful rhythm.

   She swam on her back and held my willing head to her neck. The slow arch of her hips pressing, receding, then pressing to me again was like making love. I felt the warmth of her through the currents of water washing over us and her heart, my God, how her heart beat strong against my chest.

   I was beside myself, possessed by her apparent attempt to help me ashore. I believe she thought I was distressed or drowning and only wanted to help. I grabbed the edge of the rocks and looked back. She was gone. A glance underwater revealed the sunlight flashing across her back, the mound of her buttocks, and legs as she corkscrewed away into the shadows out of view.

   For days, I looked for her between gathering food and firewood. I still had water left in the tank on board what was left of the ship. It was only a matter of time before the sea claimed the rest of the boat and I would be on my own to survive. Still, I couldn’t bring myself to leave the shore to look for fresh water.”

   “Damn, Derek. The mermaid sure had an affect on you. Aside from being a bizarre erotic moment, why did you fall in love with her like that?” I asked not knowing what to make of his description of the mermaid or his strange attachment.

   “It was her shameless beauty and acceptance of me. She had no fear of me. That profound display of innocence and caring gripped my heart and wouldn’t let me be,” Derek replied as he sipped his beer and again looked up at the picture.

   “Did you ever see her again?” I asked, urging him to continue.

   “Aye, I did and under the strangest of circumstance. I was standing on the rock where she left me before when a shark began circling. It was hunting its next meal. I saw the shark dive down and disappear into the depths, and as I peered over the edge, My mermaid shot out of the water and hit me square in the chest. I fell over on the rocks under her as the shark followed her half on the rock and thrashing the water with his tail to get at her. She screamed bloody hell and wrapped herself around me like rigging and wouldn’t let go.

   I managed to kick back enough to avoid the shark as it slipped back into the water. We made our way back over the rocks to the shore with her in my arms. I could see she was bleeding from lacerations and took her to the shelter in the cliff and lay her down to tend to her wounds. She was terrified and in shock. I gave her a shot of morphine from the ship’s medical kit not knowing if she could tolerate it or not. In no time, she was cooing and looking around the shelter with a glassy stare.  

   The shark had missed her, and probably a couple of teeth on the outer row of its jaw caught her right thigh. I sewed her up and wrapped her leg. She kept touching the bandage and looking at me chattering in that soft voice. That’s when she tapped her chest and said something that sounded like Meera. I figured it was her name, so I told her mine. She kept touching me and saying Dreek, Dreek, over and over again. The morphine had her head in a place she’d never been before.”

   “I think you have my head in a place It’s never been before too, old man,” I murmured then hailed the waitress to get Derek another beer, so he didn’t have to keep asking. I ordered a coffee for myself. I wanted to stay awake for the ending.


Dedicated to the Goth Girls with the soul of a mermaid.

Image source: pinterest.com

41 thoughts on “The Mermaid-Scene 2

        1. I would love to read the after action review of Miss Sherrielock’s success in whipping the WP Gremlins’ asses. A picture of her blistering their bothersome buttocks would be a benevolent benefit to the beleaguered WP blogoteers. 😃👍

          Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a great story, Daniel. 🙂

    I’ve always loved mermaid tales.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Splash with Tom Hanks and Daryl Hannah and John Candy.

    I’ve often fantasized about meeting a mermaid myself.

    As well as fantasized about meeting a beautiful woman on a South Pacific Island.

    As well as meeting a beautiful woman who looks like Sherrie and lives in a house on the moon and has a lovely singing voice that I remember from a film I saw the ending of on TCM earlier this year but now can’t for the life of me remember the name of the film.

    Enchanting story! – this story of Derek and the mermaid.

    Oh btw- I sent you an email, Daniel.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you liked it, Chris. Natasha and Lauren convinced me to try it and I’m glad I did. It’s been fun so far. It’s very short with the ending coming next in the third scene. I may continue it if it holds up to scrutiny. I do hope you find that girl of your dreams someday. The south Pacific does have a fair share of exotic beauty. Perhaps a trip there someday will seal your fate. 😀 And of course, Michelangelo will surely blow up his tank. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Awww … Chris! You made me smile here. hehehe …
      You think I am beautiful? Awww … I am so deeply touched, really …
      Let us meet in a dream of a house on a crescent like planet that look like a rounded golden cheese in a parallel world.

      I really love this mermaid Story. Daniel is very good at this.
      (◕‿◕✿)

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s an excellent idea, Sherrie. 🙂

        To meet in a dream of a house on a crescent like planet that looks like a rounded golden cheese in a parallel world. ❤

        Yes, Daniel is excellent at writing mermaid tales.

        I once wrote a story at Journalspace about 10 years ago about a love affair between a Christian minister (who was searching for the Fountain of Youth) and a mermaid.

        There was a company called Method Studios whose IP address always showed up in reading my blog.

        But they were one of the many companies involved in making Pirates of The Caribbean movies.

        So when I saw that film where a Christian minister and a mermaid were with Captain Jack Sparrow in searching for the Fountain of Youth and a mermaid’s tear was thrown into water from a cup in the Fountain (which I had in my short story), I’m pretty sure that’s where they got that idea from.

        I wish JS hadn’t blown a fuse and crashed their system.

        Otherwise I might be able to prove it and sue the makers of Pirates of The Caribbean for loads of money.

        Liked by 2 people

          1. Crazier than the Munsters!

            And they not only have a severed hand like the Addams Family (in their case, the Black Hand) but they also have a Psychic Lobster, a horny shapeshifting hamster/human, mermaids, otters, Dragons who are in serious need of taking Anger Management classes, an ancient Mummy who dispenses wisdom by day and is a leather skirted dominatrix by night.

            Such is the Blogoteer family!!! 😀

            Liked by 2 people

  2. Dedicated to the goth girls with the soul of a mermaid! Aww yeah. Black mermaid soul…

    Derek is really under her spell, and I’m under the spell of your story! It’s delightful. Nice words from T.S. Eliot to start things off. Aside from Meera’s black eyes, I found myself wanting to see more colors – was her skin pale? I recall her auburn hair with blonde streaks. Also just from what mermaids I’ve seen, I was surprised to read that she had legs. I had initially pictured green iridescent scales and a tale. Out of curiosity, what made you add legs?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes, Goth Girls fuel the universe. They are the source of Dark Light. Derek gets more descriptive as Meera pulls him deeper under her spell. I decided to give her legs with feet that served as fins to make her more human and to dispel the ancient myth of half woman and half fish. She is also an air breather that can hold her breath underwater a long time like whales and dolphins. Meera has a few other adaptations and Derek adores her differences as much as he adores her sameness with land maidens. What a hopeless union, but that’s what love does. We arrive at the conclusion and Derek reveals more of his dark secret in the final scene coming up.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I did check out Charmaine Olivia and as soon as I saw she was delightfully inked, I knew she was going to be good and that word is so inadequate to describe her and her art. Exquisite, sublime, avant garde will have to do until I can find better words. Thank you for that reference.

          Like

  3. Amazing!! I was totally captivated by the story! It is beautifully written. I like that it has a scary and exciting moment with the shark, and also some humor in it, like when the soldier says his mind too was never in a place like that before. It was like reading an interesting classic book. This can be a really great story Dan. I really enjoyed reading it from beginning to end. Great job:) Waiting for the next scene…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whooo hooo! 😀 I’m so glad you liked it, Natasha, and thank you for the wonderful comment. I’m feeling it too. It’s a lot more fun when I feel connected to the story. I planned to finish it in 3 scenes but it does have the potential to go longer if it holds up. I should have the 3rd scene out this coming weekend. I’ll let you know when it’s up.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Maybe it’s time for a good mermaid mystery. I like that Meera is not the stereotypical mermaid. That gives her a lot of options as a character in the story. I can at least add the story to some of my other short stories as an anthology. I wanted to do an anthology for a while. It’s the perfect format for commuting or waiting somewhere like the Dr. office. You aren’t tied to 300 pages but stories you can read in 20 minutes or less.

          Like

Leave a Reply

